• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Need help with a finicky Qumetrak 142 floppy drive (PCjr)

djfitzgerald

Experienced Member
I started work on a PCjr at the March VCF East repair workshop, and have been running into some issues with the floppy drive. I have been having intermittent problems with it playing a game, and suspect a possible drive issue. I'll presently describe what I did and what I observed, and would be interested in hearing anybody's thoughts on what could be the root cause of this problem.

At the workshop, the floppy drive had been all bound up and Sark (who was working on two other bound PCjr Qumetrak 142 drives for the VCFED) worked on lubricating it until it could read again. When I got home, I started playing with the drive myself. I made a King's Quest I floppy from an image on Archive.org, and tried to load it in the drive. It would work only intermittently. I tried making the disk image with three different floppies and got the following results:
  1. Floppy One - This was a non-name floppy that may have originally come from boxed software. On the second or so time I tried booting it, I was able to get to the actual game. However, subsequent tests would only get as far as the program splash screen before stopping. The text input prompt (below the splash screen) would show a '±' character in blue after the white prompt '>', and if I hit the ENTER key, the disk drive would read but that prompt and symbol would come back and I couldn't make any more progress. When I finally gave up and reformatted the disk on a Windows 95 machine, it reported a number of bad sectors, which was probably the cause.