• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Gaming on a GRiDCASE 1520

eXTended8088

Experienced Member
Hi all :)

Please excuse my ignorance on this one. I am new to orange gas plasma screens :) I have a GRiDCASE 1520, and was wondering if any old CGA games would play on this bad boy. I had a old copy of Popcorn, a arkanoid clone, and installed it. It starts but displays a block on the left hand side of the screen, but thats it. I am thinking the gas plasma screens cant handle graphics, even though it is supposedly 2 color cga? and 4 color cga ouput to a external CGA monitor.I have not tried a text adventure game yet on this, but I am sure that will at least work. I hope... :confused:

Thanks!

I am a big fan of the Grid 1520 and have a couple of them. However I am not a gamer. The red plasma screen is a monochrome display, and the external display will supposedly work with a CGA monitor but I have never tried that. I imagine that would also neccessitate a CGA driver but it may be built in . You might ask this question in the Grid group in Yahoo. They're a friendly group that can answer most of your Grid 15xx questions

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/rugrid-laptop/

I'm not sure but you might have to register in order to post a question.

Lawrence

You can play cga games on the GRidcase 1520, and if you have the vga adapter you can play ega,vga,and cga games. I was just recently playing Dangerous Dave on the plasma screen.

Thanks to you both!!! I was kinda curious on what can play. I believe this just a plain jane 1520, with CGA out and the plasma screen. Is this machine pretty rare?