• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Vintage computer info please

luvoldies

Hello,
I'm a newbie here. Hope all are well and thriving here!

Can anyone give me any web pages or info of any kind for 2 old vintage computers I just aquired?
Example = What are they worth?
What should I do with them, if anything and who might be interested in aquiring them..?
They are:

1) 1985-92 '386' Dr. Halo lll 'graphic device supports artist rendering-type manipulation' laptop with the old 5 1/2 x 5 3/4 floppies for mouse driver/utilities. But no 5 1/2 x 5 3/4 floppie drive.
Microsoft Windows Vs 3.1 384 K Dos 2.1 Works with CGA emulation
Has owners/user manual.
There are issues with the mouse but it will work if you are patient. Everything else seems fine. No external cdrom drive and only normal DOS and Windows files on a hard drive. Printer port (no cable)
mouse port/cable.
Huge battery pack for power and power plug in

2) 1998 Umax Action Book
Dos works fine. Has a UMAX RECOVERY CD for reboot but there are CDROM issues and it does not work.
Otherwise I believe all working okay-at least at this moment.

I need a free download to copy to disk to use with drive A inorder to reboot.

Any help or suggestions, etc. will be greatly appreciated!!
:) :dogrun:

Last edited:
The first machine seems a little interesting. There are some folks who use 386 laptops as terminals for older gear or, sometimes, as vintage gaming platforms.

I'd be interested in seeing a picture or two. I suspect it's just a generic 386 laptop that someone slapped a DR Halo III (a drawing program) sticker on.

The other machine isn't vintage at all and is likely worth little more than scrap value.

Yeah, if you could take a picture I'd be interested in seeing what the Dr Halo system is, as Erik said Dr. Halo was an old drawing application (I used to goof with it as a kid on our 8088 ) so it's likely a sticker that doesn't have anything to do with the system but if it did that'd be quite interesting.