• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Very first Commodore Pet ??

Dodger

I bought this Pet 2001 in 1979 when I was an engineering student. It wasn't new when I bought it. I posted here about it a few years ago then put it back in the loft, I've got it out again and I'm determined to do something useful with it.

The interesting thing about it is the serial number. It's 1000001.

I'm not sure what the significance of the number is but I have an idea the 120 volt PETs are serial number 0xxxxxx and 240 volt PETs are serial number 1xxxxxx. Can anybody confirm this ?

So does that make me the owner of Europe's first ever Personal Computer ? Is it worth a fortune, I doubt it, but perhaps it should be in a museum or a collection.

I've attached a couple of pictures. Sadly it doesn't work, the screen lights up and fills with random characters. I've tried reseating the memory but nothing changed.

I'm in the UK, just SW of London.

Any ideas what I should do with it better than putting it back in the loft ???

Attachments

• DSC00329.jpg
    DSC00329.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 1
  • DSC00328.jpg
    DSC00328.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 1
Pretty neat. A low serial number can certainly raise the value of an item. I would think that yes you probably have one of the first Pet's which is pretty neat. While I wish I was worthy of such an item in my collection I would think one of the more major Commodore players or possible museum as you suggested would be a better home, not that I would object or not bid if it was to come up heh.

Wow. It certainly LOOKs like a rare original oldie.

Pets can be fixed. Garbage screens are a fairly generic symptom of a fault, but several Pets have been fixed with assistance from knowledgable folk (I'm not one of them) who inhabit these forums.