• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

What BBSes did you run back in the day?

Securix

Experienced Member
I started calling BBSes in August 1984, but I've been a sysop ever since I unboxed my first C64 back in 1986.

Between 1986 and 1987 I ran a 6485 Exchange and then C-Net 64 BBS called Cyberborea, which was a triumverate of BBSes that I ran with my friends, that also included Hyperborea and Hydroborea (yes we were T-Dream fans).

Later around 1990, I ran AudioNet BBS on a clone IBM PC I built that ran TriBBS with a D'Bridge Fido frontend. It was focused on stereos, car audio, and music production.

After that, around 1992 my friends and I ran Dreamline BBS, and later in 1994, Afterimage BBS, both on Galacticomm MajorBBS. Afterimage was a major chat/social board, which turned into an ISP called Novasys back in 1995 which turned into Paracom in 1997, which I finally gave up on as a business concern sometime in 2001 or 2002.

Currently, one of my friends with whom I ran Dreamline, is running a retro-BBS called The Yird (telnet bbs.theyird.com) and I'm considering putting up a retro BBS as well.

So did you run a BBS back in the day and what hardware/software did it run?

Thanks. I always love reading about the various BBS "experiences" people had in the 80's and 90's, I get pretty nostalgic when it comes to BBSing.

Figured there would be some old threads around, but rather than keep them alive, figured I'd start a fresh one for the recently joined folks (like me).

Forgot to mention, I appeared (very briefly) in Jason Scott's BBS Documentary movie (as Epsilon Process). I had a lot to say about the multi-line chat BBS's (and their soap opera drama) that I was involved in, about the artscene, and about early/mid 80's BBSing days and phreaking, and basically a ton of other stuff that ended up not being used.

Ah well...

BBSing was a huge part of my life, and basically what got me into telecom, networking, Unix, etc...