• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Researching about the video-game crash of 1983

per

Veteran Member
I'm doing a school project (history) about "The North-American video-game crash of 1983" (as most peope like to call it). Since I wasn't born before '92 and have grown up in Europe, I have no knowledge about what actually happened through personal experience. Because of this, I'll try to read all documents I can find about it.

After reading quite a lot on the internet, I seem to have gotten the following facts:

1970's:
  • The birth of console games, home computers, and the general 4th generation computers.
  • TI throwing Commodore out of the calculator market, and Commodore almost goes bankrupt.
  • The market for console games is quite small.
  • Arcade machines gets quite common and popular.

1980-81:
  • The market for video-games is getting bigger.
  • Most games released are ports of popular Arcade games (like "Space Invaders").
  • Atari is gaining popularity with their "Atari 2600".
  • Atari is the leading company in the market.

1982:
  • Atari anounces that they'll release an Atari-2600 port of the popular game "pac-man".
  • There is an ongoing boom-time in the console-market, and demands for consoles goes up because of popularity.
  • There is a similar boom-time for the Arcade-market and home-computer market.
  • Atari steps in the salad by over-estimating the sales of "Pac-man"; making 12 million of cartridges with only a proptotype (even only 10 million Atari 2600's were sold at that time). Some million people buys the game and many of them gets dissapointed and tries to return it.
  • Numbers of different consoles appears from companies created overnigth.
  • Numbers of games appears from even more companies created overnigth.
  • The market is flooded with games and consoles.