• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Commodore 1541-II Disk Drive Problems

Commodore64

Hello There, today I bought Commodore 64G computer with commodore 1541-II Disk drive, seller said that everything works fine, but here's the problem, I turn on disk drive and c64, insert floppy, type LOAD"*",8,1 then I get text: Searching for *, and nothing happens. Could it be that I just do something wrong? This is my first Commodore64 computer, so I am a newbie here.

I hope you know that loading takes ages ;)

So, actually, it should do nothing when it says "Loading". Sometimes it should finish loading and either start by itself or display "Ready".

The screen output should be something like this:
Code:
LOAD"*",8,1

SEARCHING FOR *
[... time elapses ...]
READY.

If you never get LOADING, something has gone bad. Does the floppy disk spin or will it sit silent? Are you certain you use a floppy disk formatted for a C64? Oh well, if it wasn't you would get an error message after a while.

Floppy disk spins, but I dont get a message "Loading", its always like "Searching for *" or something like that. Floppys I got from same guy I bougth C64 today, I tried various floppies, and same with all of them.

Last edited:
Describe what the floppy drive activity light does during this process, that is usually a good indicator of exactly what is wrong as well.

Don't remember how to diagnose the drives from that, but Carlsson and several others can. It *might* if I recall mean that the drive isn't spinning up and that you might need to replace or re-seat the belt that spins the drive, if this particular one has one, or else do some other manner of maintenance on the drive.

When you power on the drive, the drive spins and the green light is lit for a short while. Then it should stop and the light go out. Does your drive work this way, or is the green light permanently on and the drive is spinning even before you issued a command from the computer side?