• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Commodore PET 4032 Problem

Dave,

Great idea! I would certainly go for the USB option if possible. However, I have no idea how easy/hard this would be

Tez,
Yes, USB would be better for newer machines, but as an amateur programmer, I dread the Windows environment so I would need some helpful tools.
-Dave

Rom set

Rom set

Thanks to this resource I have established I have the following ROM set:

ROM 4.1 - Basic Level IV - Graphic Keyboard – Series 2001 & 4000

Which comprises these ROMS from left to right as you view the front of the open PET:

The PET4032/8032 Kernal ROM - 4 KBytes
Position: UD9 - ROM: 901465-22

The Screen editor for BASIC 4, normal keyboard, no CRTC (40 columns) - 4 KBytes
Position: UD8 - ROM: 901447-29

The BASIC 4 ROM CHIPS - 12 KBytes total comprising:
Position: UD7 - ROM: 901465-21
Position: UD6 - ROM: 901465-20
Position: UD5 - ROM: 901465-23 (Patched Version which replaces 901465-19)

Thanks to this resource for the links to the bin files for the ROMS above.

It makes me a little queasy thinking about having to create an exe file for the Windows environment that will control the parallel port or any part of the PC hardware. I guess if I limit myself to DOS, it wouldn’t be so bad.
-Dave

I used Visual Basic to control a Parallel Port Relay Board under Windows XP. I have zipped the dll and instructions I used and put them here together with an example if it's of any use...

Thanks to this resource I have established I have the following ROM set:

ROM 4.1 - Basic Level IV - Graphic Keyboard – Series 2001 & 4000

Which comprises these ROMS from left to right as you view the front of the open PET:

The PET4032/8032 Kernal ROM - 4 KBytes
Position: UD9 - ROM: 901465-22

The Screen editor for BASIC 4, normal keyboard, no CRTC (40 columns) - 4 KBytes
Position: UD8 - ROM: 901447-29

The BASIC 4 ROM CHIPS - 12 KBytes total comprising:
Position: UD7 - ROM: 901465-21
Position: UD6 - ROM: 901465-20