• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM case paint

james1095

Experienced Member
Has anyone found a decent match for the gray IBM used on the PC/XT cases? Mine spent far too long in a damp shed and has some slight surface rust. It looks ok from a distance, but a nice new coat of paint would look really sharp. Powder coat is an option too, but I'm not very good at matching colors.

Ignoring the color, that's a special textured paint and not easily reproduced at home.

still, would be useful to know what kind of paint was used, maybe one can buy some with such a texture, or make something that can do the texturing

It seems to me that it is some sort of powder coating process on XT cases. I've seen a few scuffed ones and the paint does not "peel off" but rather "wears off" until the metal is exposed.

Powder coating would also explain the texture.

Definitely not something you can reproduce at home, easily.

As for the color, you could always try having a hardware store match it using their computer based color matching systems. You'd have to do some light coat spraying with "fade" to cover up rust without removing the texture. If you try sanding it down first, you'll have smoothed out flat spots that won't look right.

Problem is, at the end of the day, you still have a cancerous shell.

Has anyone found a decent match for the gray IBM used on the PC/XT cases?

There’s nothing like experience (read stupidity), so for others thinking of repainting their cases…..

Yes, I have, although I will make a qualification before I continue. Some of us, (as Modem7 pointed out in the Cork Pads thread) want to replicate as close as possible, the original appearance of our computers while others simply look for something that will do the trick.

I am one of the former.

I had a really bad 5150 case with scrapes/scratches and a little surface rust, and I thought I’d experiment a bit.