• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

5151 high-persistence phosphor ghosting

Ken Vaughn

Experienced Member
I acquired an old IBM 5151 green phosphor monochrome monitor. It works fine, but the ghosting is more pronounced than I remember from the early 80's. When I scroll the display, the image persists for much longer than I think is normal -- it takes around 2 seconds to completely decay.

Is this evidence of some hardware problem? Does the phosphor change over time and become more persistent? Changing the brightness and contrast doesn't change the ghosting.

This certainly brings back some memories :) In the early 80's I worked in a lab where we did all types of measurements on CRT displays.
I built a 'persistence meter' from a kit, that allowed us to measure phosphor persistence and decay time on various CRTs.

I recall the 5151 phosphor did have a long persistence. I don't currently own a 5151 so I can't say if this is normal but maybe someone
else that owns a 5151 will do a comparison.

I believe that the phosphors back then were quite slow to decay. I have I believe it's a Tandy VM-1 monitor that the sold with the Tandy 1200 (I have the 1200 too, but, I'm waiting for the parts to crawl back together) and they had a deadly case of persistence going on. A couple of seconds was about right.

I recall that the amber monitors had the same problem at the time.

In my experience the 5151 really did have unusually long persistence, one of the things that struck me when I saw my first IBM PC.

Yes, the 5151 was especially slow! Mine would continue to glow even if it wasn't on -- the lighting in the workshop was enough to charge the phosphor, and if you shut the lights off or blew a fuse (it was a basement workshop, no windows) you could clearly see the 5151 glowing faintly.