• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Kaypro II FDD issues

f1lm

I just grabbed myself a Kaypro II, knowing of some disk problems. I figured it'd be an easy fix but I'm being disproven. I can't seem to figure out what's wrong with it.

It won't take any of the numerous CP/M disks I'm putting in it, just saying it can't read it, and I'm afraid it might be eating up the disks.

I can't describe the problem all that well, as I don't know what relevant details I should include, but if there's more details you guys need I'll do my best to provide the information.

Currently I'm thinking of taking the FDDs and swapping drive B with drive A, but my first test of simply unplugging drive A and putting its plug into Drive B didn't work as expected.

Anyone have some ideas? I'm a newbie to CP/M, and I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum.

I just grabbed myself a Kaypro II, knowing of some disk problems. I figured it'd be an easy fix but I'm being disproven. I can't seem to figure out what's wrong with it.

It won't take any of the numerous CP/M disks I'm putting in it, just saying it can't read it, and I'm afraid it might be eating up the disks.

I can't describe the problem all that well, as I don't know what relevant details I should include, but if there's more details you guys need I'll do my best to provide the information.

Currently I'm thinking of taking the FDDs and swapping drive B with drive A, but my first test of simply unplugging drive A and putting its plug into Drive B didn't work as expected.

Anyone have some ideas? I'm a newbie to CP/M, and I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum.

Floppy reading problems have been discussed numerous times on the forum. Essentially it's a case of:
  • Disks are bad (degraded disks can leave deposits on the heads and scratch other disks)
  • Drive heads are dirty (clean em)
  • Drive speed is wrong (remove drive and check with the strobe patterns on the flywheel)