• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

i would like to make a cp/m capable computer

redhawk579

Experienced Member
hello all,

I would like to build a computer using either the intel 8085 or motarola 68000l10
but I have very little experience in programming and moderate soldering experience.
i would hope that a senior member could lead me in the right direction on putting
together a microcomputer capable of the task(s) i will require of it.

sincerely,
redhawk579

what is the z80 board under in the front page

That's the N8VEM computer - it's a sort of group project to design and make a z80 computer that can run cp/m from parts generally available today. You buy the bare PCB boards, then all the parts and solder it together. There's a google group in addition to the web site listed above: http://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/n8vem

The first project done is the N8VEM, with the ECB style backplane, which all the other boards plug into. There is a Z80 cpu board that can be plugged into it, along with other alternate cpu boards, a 6809 one that can run Cubix, and a 6502 based board also. There's a quite a few other additional boards available also.

There's also a new all-in-one board project called the N8-2511 that combines a lot of the most popular features built onto a bigger motherboard, so you don't have to add a lot of expansion boards to have a fully useful system. It's in prototype stage right now.

And, there's also S-100 boards being designed, so you could build your own S-100 based computer from bare boards - there's the usual Z80 cpu & peripheral boards, but someone is also working on a 68000 based cpu board. Don't know what OS it would run though - check the google group.

Jeff

Last edited:
Hi! To make an N8VEM SBC V2 all you need is a single PCB. It can run in a "stand alone" mode with Z80, RAM, ROM, serial port, and parallel expansion.