• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

The absolute best NY Cheesecake recipe...

Stone

10k Member
Since it's the season and cooking has dominated this forum of late I thought I would share this fantastic and not-so-difficult recipe. After you make this one I'm sure you'll all want to send me a nice, old PC as a thank-you. :) Just PM me for my mailing addy. :):)

I've been making this one for over 35 years -- it came directly from my cousin in Brooklyn.

STONE'S FAMOUS NEW YORK CHEESE CAKE

CRUST
2-CUPS GRAHAMCRACKER CRUMBS
3/4 STICK BUTTER
1-TBSP WATER
MIX AND SPREAD ON BOTTOM OF PAN

FILLING
MIX TOGETHER:
2 - LBS CREAM CHEESE (4-PACKAGES) SOFTENED
1 1/2 - CUPS SUGAR
3/4 - CUP MILK

THEN ADD AND MIX WELL:
1 - PT SOUR CREAM ( 1 LB.)
4 - EGGS
4 - TBSPS FLOUR or (2 CORNSTARCH & 2 FLOUR)
1 (AND MAYBE A LITTLE MORE) - TBSP VANILLA

GREASE PAN'S SIDES (9" SPRINGFORM) AND FILL WITH MIXTURE

BAKE AT 375 DEGREES EXACTLY ONE HOUR.

TURN OVEN OFF AFTER THE HOUR, OPEN DOOR SLIGHTLY
AND LEAVE CAKE IN EXACTLY 1/2 HOUR.

REMOVE CAKE AND LET COOL THOROUGHLY BEFORE REMOVING
SIDES. LET CAKE COOL SOME MORE.

REFRIGERATE FOR A FULL DAY BEFORE CUTTING AND SERVING.

Here's a coupla' my personal tips. I changed the original recipe from 4 tbsps of flour to 2 flour & 2 cornstarch a long time ago. I found that this gave the cheesecake a better texture and helped prevent the cake from developing a crack down the middle while it was cooling. Also, if you have any willpower at all -- wait for four or five days before cutting into this baby. It's well worth it.

enjoy...

It's probably a slight bit more diffuclt than the recipe makes it appear but all-in-all it's not that difficult, especiallially considering the end result:

CheeseCake.jpg