• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

PICOMM computers by Potter Instrument Co, New York?

Felix,
I have seen a few Potter instruments turn up on ebay over the past few years (really primitive looking frequency counters with either NIXIE or Dekatron display tubes, probably circa early 1950s), but still not a single PICOMM computer. I wish I could remember more of the details of this system, but at least I have the front panel to prove that it existed.

Potter

Potter

This looks like an old thread, bit if anyone is still reading it and worked for Potter Instruments, I'd be interested to hear about your experiences. I am Jack Potter's son. I am an engineer living and working in Silicon Valley. I grew up in Long Island and remember the Plainview plant as well as tons of equipment in our basement. My father and I worked on a startup venture together in the 80s.

Scott,
I was an end user- not an employee- back in the early 1970s. I did see the Plainview plant, however, when I learned about the operation and maintenance of the computer. You've already read about my experiences in the earlier messages. Hopefully, a few of the ex-employees (Woodym1 and Felix) will check back and reply to you some day.

Do you recall anything about the Picomm computer? The XYZ dimensional measurement system to which it was connected would probably have been produced through the early 1980s in several variations. Perhaps you have documentation or pieces of the computer in your posession now.

Would you like me to drop by and help empty your basement?

This looks like an old thread, bit if anyone is still reading it and worked for Potter Instruments, I'd be interested to hear about your experiences. I am Jack Potter's son. I am an engineer living and working in Silicon Valley. I grew up in Long Island and remember the Plainview plant as well as tons of equipment in our basement. My father and I worked on a startup venture together in the 80s.

Potter Disk Drive History