• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Y2K Compliant DOS versions?

neutrino78x

Experienced Member
So, does anybody know about Y2K Compliant DOS versions?

I know IBM PC DOS 2000 is Y2K Compliant. I assume FreeDOS and DR-DOS 7.03 are as well.

But, what about other official versions of DOS from IBM or Microsoft, which are easier to find on ebay? For example is IBM PC DOS 5.0 Y2K compliant?

Would the original IBM PC, XT, AT, or PS/2 Model 30 be Y2K compliant even with a Y2K compliant OS? I would think IBM's original BIOS probably is not Y2K compliant?

btw, I am correct in thinking that the main difference between an English version of DOS and this IBM DOS 2000 French version is that the help pages and documentation are in French? I do speak some French, I studied it in high school, lol. I guess instead of "help", you would type "assiste" or "aider" lol. ;-)

--Brian

For Microsoft products, this table probably will be of help. As you can see, "compliant" isn't an absolute, but rather a relative property.

Alas, this doesn't mean that the applications you'll be running will be Y2K-compliant.

A fair amount of attention was given not only to the ability to display dates Y2K and later, but what would happen when the date rolled over on December 31. 1999--and if the product was smart enough to know that 2000 is not a leap year.

Last edited:
For Microsoft products, this table probably will be of help. As you can see, "compliant" isn't an absolute, but rather a relative property.

Cool, thanks.

and if the product was smart enough to know that 2000 is not a leap year.