• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here
  • From now on we will require that a prefix is set for any items in the sales area. We have created regions and locations for this. We also require that you select a delivery option before posting your listing. This will hopefully help us streamline the things that get listed for sales here and help local people better advertise their items, especially for local only sales. New sales rules are also coming, so stay tuned.

Jerry Richter Oversen’s IBM 5161 Expansion Unit

By bike I assume you mean bicycle. At least some of us are staying in shape. :)

I am not an engineer -- I'm a meteorologist. If you would like a detailed description of what I did to my small footprint, 3 HH bay case 286 (in 1989-1990) just say the word and I present all the details. And in the end, everything worked perfectly, too.

Why would Jerry Ovesen have used a machine that had a 5161 case and a clone XT board in it?
Why not? With multi-function cards and bigger & leaner hard disks the 5161s were pretty well obsolete but still made a nice case; I also gutted mine and put an XT clone into it, later upgraded to a 486, which ran my Watson 'answering machine' for more than ten years.

I must be missing something here.

His obituary talks about his involvement with DOS. But I have not found any references to his involvement with DOS anywhere else. Except for his obituary and this eBay listing, there is nothing that links him to the development of DOS.

IBM does have a big development facility in Rochester, MN. But they made the System/36, System/38, AS/400 and related products. It would be unlikely to have a major camp of DOS developers up here given how territorial IBMers were about "missions".

Mike

I must be missing something here.