• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

My new custom built 386DX40!

jaqiefox

First... I have been a member of 2cpu forums for a long time. Ive known luckybob for a while, but only just today was introduced to this forum by him. I figured since I am a computer hobbyist/tech/collector of IBM compatible x86 PCs from all eras, this may be a good place to post some of my older systems I have and will build!

Let me introduce to you fuzzy my little (mostly) era-correct little 386 hotrod! Still a work in progress as I find more suitable parts.

IMG_0148-t.jpg

IMG_0143-t.jpg

IMG_0129-t.jpg

full photo dump available here.

The case is a micro ATX semi slim I have been saving for a while. I had originally intended to use an enlight AT minitower, but if you look in the picture dump you will see that it was ruined by a moron in shipping and prior storage. The micro ATX case is a temporary setup, though I do plan on using it for somewhat later stuff like a pentium 200 MMX or such.

I have since changed a few things, the HDD is now a 214MB seagate, and the RAM is now upgraded to 4x 4MB simms. I am searching for a good inexpensive ISA 1MB video card (even trident is ok for me for this), another 4MB 4 pack of simms, a period SCSI HDD (already got thanks to luckybob, 1GB 3.5" half height), a 4x SCSI tray load CD drive or 2x-4x ide or sound card (panasonic or sony interface or such) cdrom drive. I already have a serial ballmouse with scrollwheel, and I also already have a GrIP (non usb) gravis gamepad pro, though I want a couple basic gravis gamepads too. Oh, also a 5.25" 1/2MB floppy, which I have already acquired. (again thanks luckybob!)

The system runs DOS 6.22 and will multiboot to win95 as well as a few other OSes, via the old awesome multiboot program called system commander.

~edit~