• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

How much memory

vladstamate

Experienced Member
Hi all,

I am trying to figure out how much memory I have in my PDP-11/23. The individual (gold) chips are TMS4164. A quick Google search indicates that they are 64kilobits each. There are 32 of them so that would make 256KBytes of memory. Is that a normal amount for a PDP-11/23 system?

memory board

If one wants more memory one adds another memory board to the system or can there be just one memory board? In case of multiple memory boards, do they have to be same size?

Regards,
Vlad.

Yes, 256KB is a fairly normal amount for a QBus 11. Though having only 32 chips on the board instead of 36 means there's no parity check...but then, you're probably not running a mission-critical system on this thing!

Hi,

As you are probably already aware, I am also a newbie with DEC equipment...

The TEXAS INSTRUMENTS TMM10010-05 board is advertised as 256K memory board, but that may mean 256K bytes, which would be 128K words for a PDP-11. Your calculation seems correct to me, that 32 chips would make for 256K bytes, or 128K words. The picture you posted shows 8 chips missing, and that bothers me a bit. I'm not sure if they would be there for 18 bit words, so you may only have 16 bit words? As you probably already know, the PDP-11/23 should be able to operate as an 18 bit machine.

Anyway, that is a very reasonable amount of memory for a PDP-11/23 (mine has only 64K words and I have already asked that question, and I have already gotten that same answer). To add more, all you need is another memory board. It does not have to be the same size as the one you have. You simply have to address the additional board at the appropriate location above your existing memory, via jumpers or dip switches, or whatever means is provided by the board.

I hope this helps...

smp