• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM XT 5160 help

Jar

Hi everyone! Trying to get an IBM XT 5160 working that I purchased from EBay. When powered the screen displays a memory count up to 512K and then displays an error of 1701.

Here is some info that I could provide without knowing exactly what would be needed for a diagnosis as this is my first time trying to get one of these older machines to work.

I did not have a monitor, so I purchased a TVGA9000b ISA vga card. With this card installed I am able to see the memory count and error code.

Next I noticed the hard drive (ST-412) was not spinning, which probably made the 1701 error appear. I replaced it with a TM502 and the error went away and the replaced hard drives sounds as if it is working correctly. Now the machine just repeats the memory count, over and over and over...

It came with what appears to be all the parts from the manufacturer, including a 256k memory expansion card. The board is missing the math processor; which is not needed from my understanding. I removed the expansion board and powered the machine on and got the same results. Memory count up to 256K then restarts. this indicates to me that this board is most likely not the problem.

I also removed the original video card and Async card. Same results.

Any advise is welcome.

**Side Question: If I had one of these old MFM drives and wanted to move data to a more recent PC. What is the easiest way of doing so? Is there current hardware and software that can accomplish this?

Maybe you could check the DIP switch settings of bank1 to see what memory it is set for, that could explain why it's rebooting with missing memory in both cases??

Make sure you have the DIP switches set correctly:

http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~preid/pcxtsw.htm

If switch 1 is set ON, then it will loop through the POST (Power-On Self Test) continuously.