• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

website hosting reccomendations?

kyeakel

Experienced Member
I'd like to have a website where I can post my vintage computer collection, projects I'm working on, and other hobby related info. I've never done a website before. I know many of you have websites, and would like to know if you'd recommend one. I've searched online, only to get more confused, the review sites seem to be spam, interested in affiliate fees and not what might be the best choice.

My criteria would be: beginner support or so easy that it's not needed, reasonable cost < $8 per month, easy to use tools to maintain the pages, file download support, email, and whatever I don't know enough to be concerned about.

I don't need forums, or e-Commerce.

Thanks for your suggestions,
Kipp

These days many web sites are edited on hosted on the server using Joomla, Drupal or Wordpress (or even SharePoint). So the pages only exists as data in a database, when you access a page a script runs.

So for example if you go to www.smrcc.org.uk (South Manchester Radio Club) the tabs you see don't exist as files on the server. Its a Drupal Server and you just edit them on the server.

Perhaps I should setup some Vintage Sites for folks...
.. some places here will run you a Drupal Site for the amount you envisage

https://drupal.org/hosting

Have you checked if your internet provider already allows for a hosted personal web site? Usually they're limited to a fairly small amount of data but still a decent building block although you may need to learn some simple HTML editing tools (I'm no longer up to date on what's popular out there). As Dave said though, a lot of time CMS (Content Management Systems) like Drupal are common as an easyish to setup and modify objects and reduce the need to know the code.