• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here
  • From now on we will require that a prefix is set for any items in the sales area. We have created regions and locations for this. We also require that you select a delivery option before posting your listing. This will hopefully help us streamline the things that get listed for sales here and help local people better advertise their items, especially for local only sales. New sales rules are also coming, so stay tuned.

Looking for an 8" floppy drive

commodorejohn

Veteran Member
I'm currently in the process of stockpiling bits and pieces for a potential project, and one thing I've been interested in is adding an 8" floppy disk drive to the mix. However, I've never used 8" disks before, so I'm not sure how much variation there was in the hardware. I have a stockpile of about 70 DSDD disks in IBM's 1024-byte/sector format; is this soft-sectored? Will pretty much any soft-sectored double-sided 8" drive work with this, as long as I've got a controller that can read it? Does anyone have suitable equipment to spare?

8" Tandons - Not For Sale:

8" Tandons - Not For Sale:

I can't sell you one of my drives but I can recommend that you buy a later model 8" drive without the AC Motors.

I bought two new Tandon TM848s half-height DSDD 8inch drives around 1986 for my MSC-LAT1, and they we a much better design, taking advantage of the motor technology used in 5 1/4inch drives.

I had a pair of old AC motor 8" full height drive and never liked them; I would be disappointed to ever find them in my garage.

Before you buy 8" drives, it would be a good idea to download some 8" drive manuals (PDF) and look over them to see what you'd be willing to buy. My favorite online source for documentation is:
http://maben.homeip.net/static/S100/

Last edited: