• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Mainframes Today

lyonadmiral

Veteran Member
For those who might still work with the big iron, what do you say/think is the advantage of running mainframes/big iron today?

Thanks,
Daniel

Near 100% availability and lowest cost virtual machines.

MFs today however are physically tiny relative to their ancestors.

Near 100% availability and lowest cost virtual machines.

MFs today however are physically tiny relative to their ancestors.

I worked in a school district once that had an AS/400 (looked like a giant tower, small versus an AS/400 I saw once that needed a whole room but the school opted to dump the AS/400 for Windows. :(

For those who might still work with the big iron, what do you say/think is the advantage of running mainframes/big iron today?

Thanks,
Daniel

It depends on what you call a mainframe and what you run on it.

So firstly as far as I can see the only "Mainframe" left in production is the IBM "zSeries" boxes. AS/400 and the "ISeries" were never described as Mainframes only mid-range boxes.

I would say the big advantage of mainframes are that they allow legacy code to run un-changed. The cost of moving off and the disruption it would cause are often un-acceptable to the type of industry still using mainframes, which as far as I can see are mainly Banks and Airline reservations, although I guess some large utilities and government departments stull use them.

We removed the mainframe from the place I was working at five years ago, and it was very expensive. It was IMHO probably not really worth the effort but management wanted to look modern..

On the other hand I started on using VM/370 on a mainframe so to me desktop and server virtualization is really providing the same sort of facilities we had back in the 1970's so things like VMWare ESXi ....

Vblock systems are in some respects like mainframes - a single system can be 30 cabinets or more.