• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Good Powerbooks?

habibrobert

Hey everyone,

I was wondering if any of the powerbooks run on 68k processors? If so, which of these models are considered to be the "best of the best"? I'm new to powerbooks and just wanted to get more of a feel for what they are like and which models are the best.

All PowerBooks with a three-digit number are 68k-based. The best is the PowerBook 540c, but those are hard to find, especially in good condition. (there was an even better 550c also, but Japan-only and impossible to get hold of)

Stay away from the 190(cs), as those had a very cheap and badly designed housing and tend to fall apart as soon as you touch them... ;)

Pretty much what Timo said there. The older PowerBooks (100, 170, 180 at least) use a very rare kind of 2.5 inch SCSI hard disk. If one of those fails, good luck finding a new one! The original design also had a pretty horrible hinge design. I've described the problem and a solution to it in my post here. Most of the original PowerBooks had design faults and limitations, and for the most part the plastics haven't help up well after 20+ years. I own a 100, a 150 and a 190 myself, and they are probably prime examples of well kept machines. My 190 works perfectly, the casing has only one small crack in it and is otherwise brand new looking. The battery contacts had corroded away after a battery leak but the logic board wasn't damaged. I'll probably post more on the restoration of that machine soon. My 150 has been restored to full working order and while the case has some minor damage, it again looks like a brand new machine. My 100 had one of those 2.5 inch SCSI disks in it and I believe it's dead so I gave up on trying to restore it any further. Even these Macs that are widely considered to be utter crap can be great in a collection if they are kept well.

Yes, what Timo and Mac said...