• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

CP/M for Northstar Single Density Disk?

smp

Veteran Member
Hello all,

As you have seen in my other post, I have successfully achieved a good, stable, working IMSAI system with Z80 CPU, 64K RAM, SIO and Northstar (single density) Floppy disk controller with 2 floppy drives.

I am presently able to boot NS-DOS, and use NS-BASIC. I have successfully used Dave Duffield's NST transfer program to bring a Northstar floppy disk image into the system and write it out to a floppy disk.

Next, I would love to acquire a copy of CP/M. I know that it was available on single density disk at some time, because when I've been scouring the Internet, I came across the Lifeboat Associates manual for it.

I managed to acquire a stash of Northstar floppy disks along the way, mainly to acquire the 10 sector hard sector floppy disks. These disks all happen to be double density, so I cannot read them with my system. And, of course, I have a master copy, as well as a few working copies, of Lifeboat Associates CP/M! So close! I have it in my hands, but my system cannot read the disks!

I have looked around. I got very excited when I saw the zip file called "NorthStar CP/M bootable OS versions" on Dave Duffield's site, but the zip file contains images of double density and quad density disks - no single density disks.

Can anyone point me to somewhere that I might acquire a single density Northstar floppy disk image that has bootable CP/M on it?

I have the Lifeboat Associates double density Northstar CP/M disk - does anyone want to trade for a Lifeboat Associates single density Northstar CP/M disk?

Thanks in advance,

smp

Last edited: