• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM 5151 Green Screen Monitors: Simple Checks

mmruzek

Experienced Member
Hi,

Well, the last of my three IBM 5151 monitors has bit the dust. My last one served me well for many years... it's held together with duct tape after being hit by a fork lift by the previous owner. I'm working on a new project called the XT-Retro and would like to get one of these monitors back into a functional state. However, I don't really like working on monitors because of the high voltage, etc. I'd appreciate a few ideas for simple things to check. For example, are there any fuses inside? Any other simple checks? Thanks!

Michael

There is a SAMS Photofact for the 5151, the basic troubleshooting page is attached below......

If you provide more details about the symptoms you'll get more help from the forum :)

5151basic.jpg

I am in the same situation, my 5151 died last month and I have no experience repairing CRTs. First I'm learning how to discharge the tube and what safety measures should I take while manipulating the innards.

In my case, the monitor started to make a thin-intermitent-electric noise (don't know how to describe it precisely) while the image shrunk also, after 10 seconds the image dissapeared and a burnt smell came out.

For what it's worth - the circuit diagrams are available and these monitors are very simple. So if anyone was ever going to repair a monitor I'd start with one of these. I learn a LOT doing one of mine (non-IBM but similar design).

For testing them, I just plug them in to a computer with the proper port, and see what happens.

I am in the same situation, my 5151 died last month and I have no experience repairing CRTs. First I'm learning how to discharge the tube and what safety measures should I take while manipulating the innards.