• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Macintosh SE refuses to boot ("barcode" like video pattern)

giobbi

Veteran Member
Hi all,

After one year stored on a shelf, my Macintosh SE surprised me refusing to boot. All I get is this video pattern and some beeps:

attachment.php

Every ~20 secs. it does a refresh on the upper screen:
attachment.php

I removed, clean e put back again the four RAM cards and I re-seated the three roms. No changes.

I measured the MB caps value (but not the power board ones yet), and they seems to be not too far from the nominal range. I measured without to remove them (except for two caps that gave me a totally wrong value).

Since I have no experience about mac and a very little experience in electronics, I'm here to ask your help...

--Giovi

Attachments

• 2015-07-06-3308.jpg
    2015-07-06-3308.jpg
    72 KB · Views: 1
  • 2015-07-06-3309.jpg
    2015-07-06-3309.jpg
    66.4 KB · Views: 1
You could sell it on eBay as known working! It worked when tried it a year ago!

On the serious side, someone who actually knows Macintoshes will have a better answer, but it looks to me like bad RAM.

You could sell it on eBay as known working! It worked when tried it a year ago!

LOL "VERY RARE APPLE ITEM! I haven't a cable so it's sold as is, but it should working!" Buy it Now, 1000 USD :mrgreen:

On the serious side, someone who actually knows Macintoshes will have a better answer, but it looks to me like bad RAM.

system ram or video ram? maybe system, 'cause if it was a bad video ram should at least appear some chars... ?
I've read most people with bars or checkers pattern found the issue is related with leaking caps. Of course I'm always running on the wild side, unsoldering ICs... :-(

--Giovi

Well, I'd check the power supply first, which could be leaky condensers, but since you already checked them, maybe, maybe not. Either way, it could be a power supply issue.