• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello from MN!

3dfxman

Hi everyone,

I am a Cisco VOIP engineer that stumbled onto this site a while ago when searching for information on the illusive Packard Bell Corner PC. I collect many old systems mainly from the 486 to Pentium III era and have a small collection of rare graphic cards as well. I hope to get to know some of you and possibly learn new things about vintage PCs.

Thanks,
Sam

Hello Sam

I'm also from Minnesota. I currently work in IT providing onsite hardware/software support. I was a master electronics technician mainly doing consumer (and some commercial) electronics repair for 25 years before moving into IT support.
My interest/hobby is primarily late 70's, early 80's computers. I purchased my first computer (Apple II+) in 1983 and bought a used Z80 cp/m computer (Epson QX-10) a few years later. I've been active on this forum a few months because
I recently acquired some S-100 based computers and there is some real expertise here especially when it comes to hardware (in my opinion). You will find good support here for your PC collection as well. Welcome from me.

Larry G

Welcome from another fellow Minnesotan.

Like "retrogear" I am also in IT hardware/software site support, before that a small (now defunct) retail computer shop. I've dabbled in some legacy telecom support (I supported an old Mitel system with about 800 extensions), and setup Asterisks VoIP for a small pizza shop, never Cisco though (short of one cisco phone on my home Asterisk box). I've been into the vintage computer stuff since before it was cool, back when it's all I could afford to get. Now days I will collect almost anything vintage computer/telecom related (besides my computers, I've also got some old western electric phones, an AT&T Merlin Legend PBX, and some other goodies).

-Ryan

I'm in MN as well. I live in Northfield but work in the southern Twin Cities.