• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Assembly Language question: odd JMP behavior in boot1

mlemmert11

I am doing some boot tracing on an Apple IIe and in boot1 I’ve encountered an indirect jump to ($003E) at $836 which I’m struggling to understand. I’m a beginner at assembly language so I think I may be missing something fundamental that may be obvious to a more experienced assembly programmer.

I’ve read a walkthrough of the Apple II boot process and it says that $836 is where sectors are read in and that $84A is the jump out to boot2.

Two screen shots are attached with the exact boot1 code I’m looking at.

Here is what is puzzling to me:

1) $84A jump doesn’t behave as expected

After copying boot0 to $9600, and boot1 to $9800, I put jump to the monitor at $984A and ran boot0 and boot1, which resulted in the disk in the drive booting up completely (i.e. I see the intro screen. The disk I’m using is Multi-Disk Catalog), which makes me think that the information I read about the $84A jump out to boot2 either isn’t accurate for the Apple IIe or I misunderstood something in that write-up.

2) $836 JMP ($003E) indirect jump doesn’t behave as expected

I started putting in breaks before $984A, then running boot1, until I found the location at which the disk in the drive doesn’t fully boot up and returns control to the monitor. That location is $836.

I put a break in directly before, at $835, and then looked at the values in $003E and $003F, and those values are 3E and 00 respectively, which made me think that the indirect jump is actually jumping to $003E.

However, I looked at the code around $003E and it has a break immediately at $0040. If there is a break I’m stumped at how the disk in the drive is booting up completely if the execution really does jump to $003E.

If I jump to $003E from any other location (for example I tried a one-line test Jump to $003E at $9500) then $003E runs as expected and breaks at $0040.