• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Tandy 1000 Shows Random Characters on Startup

Keeganjohn

Hello, This is my first post so i apologize if i do something i'm not supposed to.

I'll be completely honest, i have very little knowledge of vintage computers, but i really want to learn.

Anyway, i have a Tandy 1000 computer that just shows the attached picture on startup. From what I've gathered, the message has something to do with that RAM, but i have not found any information on what the random characters all around the screen are. I also will attach a picture of the board, i took the floppy drive out to show the entire board, but i do have it and i did put it back in before restarting the system after cleaning it.

As for repairs, i have quite a bit of soldering experience and i am very good with mechanical repairs in general, so that will not be a problem. As stated before, however, iv'e never worked on a vintage computer before, so i am not going to know the terminology but i am very eager to learn. Please help, and Thank you for reading!

Attachments

• IMG_20160106_185932921.jpg
    IMG_20160106_185932921.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_20160106_194606258.jpg
    IMG_20160106_194606258.jpg
    102.9 KB · Views: 1
Lucky for you the ram is in sockets (it's those two columns of eight chips) so you won't have to do any desoldering to change out or test the chips.
The random characters may be the result of the faulty ram. Either way, tackle the ram fault first and see what happens. Try reseating each of the 16 chips as a dirty connection can also look like a failing ram chip.

Ok, i took all the RAM chips out, cleaned the sockets and put them back in, and it got significantly worse. IMG_20160106_234434473.jpg i'm sure that i messed them up somehow, so how would i go about testing them?

You'll need replacement chips to swap out in order to test them. I would just buy enough to replace it all- they are still made and are available from Digikey, etc.