• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

What is your favorite MFM drive make/model? What country made the most reliable drive

offensive_Jerk

Veteran Member
This is just an opinion based question. I would like to know which MFM hard drive is your favorite and why. It doesn't have to be for speed or capacity reasons, either.

Also, which country do you feel made the more reliable MFM drives? They seem to have been mostly manufactured in USA or Singapore.

My favorite MFM drive so far in my limited experience with them is the Seagate ST-4038 if only for it's giant size and it's tendency to shake my desk when it's reading in certain circumstances.

seagate-st-4038-1.jpg

Back in the day, I had a soft spot in my heart for the Priam 519. That was just before I graduated to SCSI and ESDI drives.

Before that, the Shugart SA4010 was pretty impressive on a personal computer.

On mainframes, CDC 844 and 808; Bryant 4000, IBM 1311 and 2311 I remember fondly.

All US made.

I had both a ST-225 and ST-4096 which managed to through almost 20 years of steady use so I am partial to those models. The ST-4096 even formatted to provide 84 MB of usable space, 105% of its advertised capacity.

I think Singapore would have the edge over the US at least for Seagate drives. US manufacturing was closed in 1984 so all the US Seagate drives would have been really early in development cycle.

NEC D5626. Basically just an ST225 clone, but I love the chirp it makes (quite distinctive), I like being able to see the wheel going back and forth, and everyone of mine that's arrived without physical damage hasn't needed an immediate low level format. That last point may be luck, but it gives me extra confidence.

Also a personal nostalgia soft spot because I used these drives in my first IBM compatible PC.

Second place would be the Seagate ST251 or ST277R - self parking, weird noises, and good reliability.