• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

SWTPC TVT2 Under Repair

Yeah I'm a bit puzzled myself. Used to Apple II keyboards.. simple switches. I'm still learning this stuff.. I'm trying to understand why if the strobe was jammed it was sometimes able to produce characters. That one time where it kept cranking out O's, it let me type other previously nob working keys. Then it just stopped. And then it only allowed N's, and now nothing except the odd random smattering of N's when I power up.

I can think of one reason why the keyboard would produce spurious characters--and it has nothing to do with the keyboard itself.

Have you checked your +5 supply for excess ripple? I can see, given the configuration of PNP transistor logic with RTL ICs where that could get greatly amplified. RTL has pretty low output current and really awful noise immunity.

Last edited:
I've not.. I think you need a scope for that right?

The power supply would be a good suspect.. it's putting out a really nice stable picture and the other pieces of the unit like the cursor control board work. The previous owner also wired up the user defined keys on the keyboard to do cursor functions and they do work as intended, but I notice they have jumper wires installed and may not have anything to do with the strobe?

Yes, a scope would be useful for this and other things. :)

The problem with trying to use a logic probe on the keyboard is that it's not your standard TTL levels. The encoder matrix uses diodes and PNP transistors and an R-C network to create the strobe and key encodings. The output buffers are RTL, not TTL (different logic levels and noise margin). Don Lancaster wanted to create the simplest encoder using commodity parts, even though RTL had sunsetted by the time he wrote the article. To make matters worse, we're driving TTL with RTL--and the outputs of a couple of those RTL inverters are wired-OR.