• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Halley Project for the Amiga

fatwizard

Veteran Member
Hello everyone. I have been having a blast playing with the Amiga 500 I recently acquired. The system works perfectly save for having to replace the internal floppy drive and replace the battery on the memory/clock expansion card. As I was looking thru some Amiga magazines, I notice an ad for Mindscape's "The Halley Project". This was always one of my very favorite games on my old Atari 800, and I was really looking forward to playing the Amiga version. Alas, I can't seem to find a disk image that will run on my Amiga. I have downloaded every copy I can find, but none of them will run on my machine.

I thought it might be an issue with the Gotek floppy drive emulator, so I removed the drive from the external floppy, and hooked it up as DF0: I made a disk for each ADF I had found, but I had the same results.

I am quite new to the Amiga, so I am wondering if I'm doing something wrong. The ads I saw for the program were from 1985, so I wasn't expecting compatibility issues with Workbench 1.2 which the system currently has. I have had quite a few game titles that won't run, but I thought it was because they were to new for my machine, or maybe they are all PAL versions.

I would just love to get this working if possible. Does anyone have experience with this program? Maybe someone with more experience with the Amiga might have some ideas about where I'm going wrong.

Thanks in advance.

I'm not familiar with that particular game, but it is quite common for very early Amiga games to not like any memory expansions.

Try removing the memory expansion card.

Holy smoke rings A4000Bear! The memory expansion was the problem. I haven't tried all of the titles that wouldn't run yet, but so far it looks like this is the tip I was looking for. Thank you very much.

I always wondered why this is. What resource do all those games use that is alerted by the expansion card?