• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

imaging scsi drives on new machines, any experiences?

luckybob

Veteran Member
I generally prefer SCSI in my setups, and when dealing with pre-pci macs its a requirement. I find it immeasurably convenient to have a USB/IDE bridge for backups, transfer of files, etc. My goal is to image drives as backups, in case I screw up something, transfer files, do basic functionality tests. Right now I use an XP machine for this, and it works, but i'm lazy and if I can make my current win7 desktop do the work instead and only have one machine on my desk, so much the better.

I have three options

1. suck it up, buttercup
2. USB to SCS adapter $50 plus
3. installing a pci-e scsi adapter and hot-plugging the drive. most likely the Adaptec 29320LPE.

I have no experience with #2 or #3. In fact, I've always just assumed #3 was impossible without special drives and controllers. The drives I tend to use are sometimes very old 50 pin drives. I'm leaning towards #2, because i would save my last pci-e slot and USB is just so damn convenient. Speed is really not a factor here.

Thoughts?

Any reason that you'd want to use Windows for this?

Personally, I'd just use Linux and dd the things. Since these are vintage Macs, why not an older machine with a PCI SCSI card like the Adaptec 2940?

SCSI's SCSI in most vintage cases.

Its what I use in my garage. I've tried Linux multiple times over the years, and I just cant get into it. And I am currently using an older machine with scsi to do this. Its just not convenient. I basically have to set it up on the desk anytime I want to use it.