• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

vic-20

dongfeng

Veteran Member
Hello ,

I have the Commodore VIC-20 computer, I have it since it is new, but now it does not work.

when I turn it on, the screen is all gone white, everything! every thing else works fine (I can load the tape, and they will run, play music etc), I just cannot see anything on the screen.

would it be TV modulator that causes such a problem?
I have just bought the SCART lead to replace this, but I cannot test it for 2 more week......

Any idea would be very kind... :)

Hi;

I am no technical expert on the vic, but I can give you my two cents worth.

It could be the RF modulator or your game switch box or the cable, and I hope that this is what is causing you not to see anything on the screen. If it is any of those components then it is cheap and easy to go and get replacements.

But I am assuming that if it is the modulator or the switch box, you can determine if there is a signal reaching the TV or not, just by watching the TV screen when you turn your vic on. Even if it is a poor signal, I would assume that you should see at least a flicker or something on the screen when your turned the vic on, or when you fiddle with the switch box.

But you did mention that you get sounds, so you know you are getting a signal to the TV from the vic, so I don't think it is the RF modulator.

It could perhaps be your VIC chip. This is the chip you probably can't see when you take off the lid of your vic 20, since it has a metal RF shield on it (just in front of the serial and video DIN connections on the back of the vic).