• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Recent content by bear

1. bear

NFS v2 support in a modern UNIX (or UNIX like)

Re-exporting an NFS mount via NFS is forbidden (or at least it was), though I couldn't tell you if the BSD guys were exercised about following that part of the specification. The Linux guys clearly weren't.
  2. bear

Where are all the Model 16B s ?

They also ship notoriously poorly, so a number of ones that did survive have been smashed to bits while in transit from one owner to the next.
  3. bear

Any suggestion on this IBM 5295G?

I'm not an expert at this but my guess is that 4 is an hsync signal, and 5 is monochrome video. Unsure of 7. Maybe 7 is video and 5 is intensity. Maybe 5 is video and 7 is vsync. But the levels/frequencies are not entirely as I would expect to see. Looks like at minimum you'll need an older...
  4. bear

Sun386i. Overdrive processors: Why don't they work?

That's an internal clock doubled frequency. You're actually trying to run it at 50 MHz by installing it in a 25 MHz board. So that's potential problem one. Even in PCs these chips caused loads of problems for (especially non-DOS) software, because of internal cache discipline and other...
  5. bear

IBM RS6000 model 370 type 7012

the diagnostic disks are standard pc style format. double sided, 18x 512b, 500k data rate (1440kb). if you ran out of space you were not writing them correctly. you don't need a flux imager for this project.
  6. bear

Contrasting

The RAMDAC on the video board is possibly faulty. Certainly, if it's not the monitor, it's going to be in the analog part of the card.
  7. bear

Identify Mac IIci SIMMs

The PLD is a Mac thing for decoding what amounts to a "double" SIMM.
  8. bear

Identify Mac IIci SIMMs