• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Recent content by computerdude92

1. C

What are good examples of Windows Vista/7 era laptops that can run XP?

I don't think I want to mess around with PAE patches, but holy smokes those are overkill graphics...
  2. C

Sorry, but what are the 600/700 series gpus?
  3. C

It turns out collecting used laptops is the best affordable option for me regarding retro gaming. I remember my dad had a WinVista HP Dv6000 laptop with an AMD Turion 64 X2 CPU and it ran great when downgraded to XP, but he wasn't a gamer. I know I need at least 128MB of video ram because my...
  4. C

Are my first 2 Linux Lakka test PCs good choices?

Hello retro gamers, Do any of you use Linux Lakka on old PCs? I am completely new to Lakka and I need guidance please on how old the choice of PCs can be. So I just picked up 2 old as dirt systems from the PC recycling center... Here's a picture of them...
  5. C

Are there any file size limitations with MD5 and SHA1?

I have a Pioneer BDR-212EBK (BD-XL) writer drive to use for the project. Based on reviews, I think Pioneer is the better quality brand compared to the LG or Asus counterpart drives. My disc burning software is very old, so I might be in need of an upgrade. This will be my very first time making...
  6. C

Did Coppermine-128 Celerons have a Processor Serial Number (PSN) like the Pentium IIIs?

I have seen some laptops, even Pentium 1 coming with a soldered BGA mobile CPU version. I've seen mobile BGA Pentium II and III's as well. Don't know how common they were though. All of these I have mentioned above are physically smaller than desktop variants and will not fit in a desktop CPU...
  7. C

Are there any file size limitations with MD5 and SHA1?