• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

optromloader: IBM PC/Clone 8086+ floppy-loading of option roms.

dmac

Experienced Member
A few days ago, I burned the wrong image into my last EPROM, and was left unable to get XTIDE Universal BIOS working on my 486. At least until I get an eprom eraser or more roms.

I looked for ways to load the option rom into memory instead, and the solutions I found were not great.

So I wrote my own: https://github.com/rvalles/optromloader

It works great on the 486, and also works great in emulated PC/AT/XT and clones. This includes PCem's 5150.

But I have no real <32 bit hardware to try it on. There's hope somebody here will.

Last edited:
I tried to use this but I am a noob and missing some information. So for windows whats needed to make this?
I have fasm , I installed make, but I get

>make

fasm -d bios_drive=0 -d build_date="`date -u +%Y%m%d%H%MZ`" -d readblock_retries=7 -d sectors_per_track=18 optromloader.asm optromloader18
flat assembler version 1.73.28
usage: fasm <source> [output]
optional settings:
-m <limit> set the limit in kilobytes for the available memory
-p <limit> set the maximum allowed number of passes
-d <name>=<value> define symbolic variable
-s <file> dump symbolic information for debugging
make: *** [Makefile:15: optromloader18] Error 1

I tried to use this but I am a noob and missing some information. So for windows whats needed to make this?
I have fasm , I installed make, but I get

>make

fasm -d bios_drive=0 -d build_date="`date -u +%Y%m%d%H%MZ`" -d readblock_retries=7 -d sectors_per_track=18 optromloader.asm optromloader18
flat assembler version 1.73.28
usage: fasm <source> [output]
optional settings:
-m <limit> set the limit in kilobytes for the available memory
-p <limit> set the maximum allowed number of passes
-d <name>=<value> define symbolic variable
-s <file> dump symbolic information for debugging
make: *** [Makefile:15: optromloader18] Error 1