• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Greetings form the land of Oklahoma.

washitaeagle

Long time creeper, but first time to post.
I own a slew of classic computers and am a professional video producer by trade.
Apple IIe, IIgs, Trs804p, HP 486DX2.
My wife would look at this post and know that I was lying since I have multiple 4Ps, Mac, COCO, and Apples.
back of truck - 1.jpeg

I have been messing around with computers since the early 80s when dad traded a pinto station wagon for a model 4p.
He then started bringing home computers to get them ready for the classroom. As the head counselor for the elementary schools in town and a master at writing he grants he knew how to acquire computers for the classroom for little or no cost. We had a constant stream of Macs, Apples, Tandys and even IBM PCjrs through out the house and we got to use them all.
We were active members of a local trs80 user group in OKC and drove up once a month from our small town to discover new things we could do with our computer. We were friends with a local named Kelly Bates who screen dumped the game Volcano which is now stuff of internet legend/lore. I even own his model 4p. I might have owned his model 4 but that is another story.
user group - 1.jpeg
After I left to become an adult, Dad and I continued to get together and go to local computer auctions around the state. We ended up buying lots of computers...lots. This is over a 10 year period. Early 90s, to late 00s. Throughout those years Dad would fix up the "old" computers and give them away to students in need. Set these families up to be able to word process and play games, learn to type and get better at math right at home. He did wonders. At some point mom got tired of it and asked me to come down and help dad weed out his collections. We took a lot to a local recycler...lots, and kept some of the machines. This is probably where I got rid of multiple 4s, including Kelly's.