• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Apple IIc constantly registering key presses

itsvince725

Experienced Member
I picked up an Apple IIc a few days ago and it has a very strange problem: as soon as the system has booted far enough to register key presses, the screen quickly becomes filled with them, all without me touching the keyboard. No keys seem to be stuck so I have no idea why this is happening, this is the first Apple II I've ever owned so I'm not experienced in troubleshooting them.

PXL_20220214_140537764.jpgPXL_20220214_140632846.jpg

I have seen this with horribly dirty keyboards. There are two things you can do. get to the point the keys are pressing themselves then remove the keyboard connector from the board while its running (yes you will have to cover off first. If the typing stops is the keyboard. Run it through the dishwasher with the dry cycle turned off. Allow it to fully dry (may take days), then try again.

What happens if you hold down CTRL and RESET?
Nothing, it just does the same thing. I actually was pressing that to try and run a PEEK command that tells me the ROM version and then I realized the keyboard had a mind of its own.

I will have to try testing with the cover off and pulling the keyboard.

I have seen this with horribly dirty keyboards. There are two things you can do. get to the point the keys are pressing themselves then remove the keyboard connector from the board while its running (yes you will have to cover off first. If the typing stops is the keyboard. Run it through the dishwasher with the dry cycle turned off. Allow it to fully dry (may take days), then try again.
While worth a try the IIc enters some sort of exercise mode (at least ROM 255 which doesn't have the built-in self-test) when the keyboard is disconnected.

Since it's apparently producing random key presses, I'd assume it's probably the keyboard controller, not the keyboard itself.