• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Apricot PC Xi

NeXT

Veteran Member
I've been chasing down a Xen for nearly 20 years now with no success but I was surprised when recently I was offered this little machine which I really couldn't nitpick. It was an Apricot.
The PC Xi is the Apricot PC, but with a 10mb hard disk, more ram and in charcoal black, otherwise it was still the same under the hood.

CGS_9765.jpg

CGS_9768.jpg

CGS_9773.jpg

CGS_9777.jpg

CGS_9778.jpg

It's very clean, came with piles of documentation and software, it has an aftermarket V30 and BIOS upgrade and best of all it works! I don't think I've ever seen a Rodime drive behave this well. The floppy drive likewise needed the usual regreasing but reads and writes diskettes fine.
It also came with some REALLY nice product pamphlets and a brochure for the Apricot Portable. I am currently hunting down a scanner large enough to take it because while I can find the pamphlets I ahve never seen the brochure.

Whoops! Migrated a photobucket account and it broke all the image links. Here. lets try this again.

I've been chasing down a Xen for nearly 20 years now with no success but I was surprised when recently I was offered this little machine which I really couldn't nitpick. It was an Apricot.
The PC Xi is the Apricot PC, but with a 10mb hard disk, more ram and in charcoal black, otherwise it was still the same under the hood.

CGS_9765.jpg

CGS_9768.jpg

CGS_9773.jpg

CGS_9777.jpg

CGS_9778.jpg

It's very clean, came with piles of documentation and software, it has an aftermarket V30 and BIOS upgrade and best of all it works! I don't think I've ever seen a Rodime drive behave this well. The floppy drive likewise needed the usual regreasing but reads and writes diskettes fine.