• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

classic Mac analog board 3.9uF capacitor source

coredump4

The compact Mac analog board versions I've encountered all have a 3.9uF non-polarized electrolytic cap, which is somewhat of a unicorn. You can source a 3.9uF film cap from DigiKey (in USA), but it's over US$3. However I found a cheaper alternative: All Electronics has a 4uF, 250V, 105-degree 5% high-frequency film cap for $.50. It's Taitsu brand, which in all fairness I have no experience with, but at least it's Japanese.

(BTW, All Electronics' specs are wrong, it's a 250V unit; see the series datasheet.)

HTH,
Jonathan

C1 (3.9µF NP high-frequency horizontal deflection capacitor)

C1 (3.9µF NP high-frequency horizontal deflection capacitor)

WOW! TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE!?

Sounds like you're talking about "C1", the Mac's high-frequency 3.9µF NP horizontal deflection capacitor. Thanks for posting that link; I was just looking for one. At 1/6th the price, that's a great deal! (Hmmm... AllElectronics says I need to add "Only $74.50 more" to my cart to get free shipping. :D )

You wouldn't happen to know a similarly good source of Classic Mac flyback transformers, would you?

VOLTAGE

By the way, you are right about the datasheet. All Electronics is underselling the part by claiming 225V, but even so, that would still be way more than what Classic Macs came with: 25V for the original Mac and 35V for the SE, both at 85°C.

FREQUENCY

My main concern wasn't the voltage but the frequency which All Electronics doesn't even mention. The datasheet has a chart showing max current for all frequencies up to 100kHz, which would be way more than the 22.25kHz frequency it'd be switching as C1. I had been concerned about that because I had been going by advice in Macintosh Repair and Upgrade Secrets which says,