• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Grettings from Spain!

arf

Hi!

I'm a 19 year old computer engineering student from Spain. I´m interested in 1970's computer technology, I just love big systems with pluggable boards full of 74 series ICs... But as I'm just a student, so I don´t have money or space (I can´t afford a big PDP-11 ) I ended collecting calculators, wich are far more common and less expensive!. I have a Canon Canola 167P with a punch card reader and subroutine suppor, wich is the closest to a minicomputer I have been able to get, and a Canon 1210 with a delay line memory. I also like HP gear, and I'm a proud owner of a HP-85A computer too. The photos are of the Canon 167P, and some of its boards!. I hope one day I´d be able to afford a micro PDP-11 or something, and to be able to run Unix on it, but overall I'm really happy with my calculators and small personal computers right now!

Attachments

• IMG_20210314_182656.jpg
    IMG_20210314_182656.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_20210314_175424.jpg
    IMG_20210314_175424.jpg
    560.5 KB · Views: 4
Hello and welcome. Money is not always a factor. Alot of this equipment is considered "JUNK" to most people. For instance I was picking up a minicomputer (Free) and the owner just happened to mention they had something they were throwing in the trash and if I wanted it also. It turned out to be a 1971 Wang 700 series. ITs the oldest and rarest piece I own and it cost me nothing but a car ride. If you keep looking ( It takes years to find things) you can find all sorts of great things.. for very little to free.

Having said that I have been collecting longer than you have been alive so I am sure telling a young person to be patient is a bit pointless, that is learned with age. Good luck again and welcome to the forum.

Welcome to VCFED.

If you are interesting in vintage computers - stuff WILL come along at a reasonable price (or even free)...