• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

How do you guys store you computer/peripheral cards (for those who have MANY)?

VERAULT

Veteran Member
Just wondering what you guys do to store your peripheral cards. Im not talking long term storage sealed away, I mean still having access to them if needed but conveniently. Im storing them in BOXES, and its just not great.

Hoping you guys have some ideas.

I'm storing mine in boxes too, but they are flat about the thickness of pizza boxes, and I store them on their sides (if the parts inside aren't too heavy) and I try to label them clearly with what they have inside so I can easily find what I'm looking for. Up until last year, I was a customer engineer doing installs of new tech, so I had access to a lot of second-hand anti-static bags and bubble wrap, so I try to protect the cards as best as I can.

It's still a work in progress, so I've only got one shelf done so far.

stored_cards.jpg

Anti static bags and a bunch of plastic storage bins.

I get the vast majority of my cards without their original boxes and the ESD bags keep them from rubbing together and knocking stuff of.

When you have 100's of cards and limited space you have to be creative.

Nothing fancy just antistatic bags in cardboard boxes. I have them separated by type (sound, ISA video, PCI video, etc). I stand the cards on edge like if they were installed in a desktop. I try to avoid plastic containers to minimize possible sources of static.

I have been meaning to make a spreadsheet because I always forget what I have until I'm rummaging through the boxes.

I mainly use tuffbins, and mostly everything is in antistatic bags most part, some paper bags here and there. Brown paper bags are good in a pinch or tabbed envelopes. I tend to reuse silicone packets as well , so always a bunch in each bin. Layers separated by cardboard. Have at least 20 bins. Like Unknown_K said, have to use whats accessible and be creative.