• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Intel DX4 100MHz System Woes

Super-Slasher

Experienced Member
I finally got around to actually getting a 486 system working, but the joy was short lived as I found I couldn't do any work at all concerning the hard disk in any way.

The motherboard is an Asus PVI-486SP3 and booting up with a Windows 95 boot disk is no problem. I can float around in DOS okay, but as soon as I try to access the hard drive in anyway, the system freezes solid. This has led me to bileve that the IDE controller drivers need to be loaded. Except I have never done anything like that before. I have the latest drivers released by Asus for this perticular board and chipset, but I can't seem to do anything with it.

The drivers came with a "support disk" for my perticular motherboard which I downloaded - and promptly doesn't seem to work. One time I tried accessing the SETUP.EXE file for the installation of the drivers after booting into DOS with the boot disk, and it asked me to reboot the system as if the disk was supposed to be bootable on its own. Now when I try to access the EXE file, it freezes.

So, I thought of just adding the .386/driver files to the config.sys file on the boot disk, but that freezes the system, too.

One file I got with the support disk is one called ADDDRV.EXE, yet I can't seem to use it at all because all it tells me is "Useage: ADDDRV.EXE driver directory", wether being executed right from the disk or added into autoexec.bat.

Can anyone help me with this, please? I spent 5 hours trying to fix it up but failed miserably. I want to install Windows 98 on this perticular machine.

One thing I noticed is that the BIOS is a rather old version as compared to the last one released for my motherboard. I tried flashing the BIOS but it failed; didn't damage the existing BIOS either. Would an older BIOS be the source of some of my troubles; would a newer BIOS have drivers for the IDE controller?