• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Just pulled out my first computer I got in 1994 with win 3.1

seabass1858

I need some help and I heared it is possible as long as i am not trying to watch flash videos to access and browse the internet on this operating system. I am a computer systems analyst for the army and havent attempted this yet. I just want someone to tell me that i am not wasting my time because people at my work venture to say that I am. I thought it was neat to play spiderman cartoon maker cd rom.

486/66mhz/dx2
32mb
1.5mb video with 24bit true color
win 3.1
540mb wd cavier

That was a very decent system for its time. More than enough to run Windows 95 or 98 and some small distros of Linux.

Heck, you have enough to run NT 4.0 quite comfortably.

I run Windows 95 OSR2 on a 386 16Mhz with 13MB of memory. That's really pushing things.

I remember my dad paid out the ass for it than gave it to me for school purposes. could i access the internet using win 3.1 because i used it up till 2001 and from 2000 - 2001 i had cable internet when it came out and an old isa 10/100NIC running ie3.03 and never had an issue as long as i wasnt doing streaming videos. do you think i can upgrade to ie 5.01 and still use the internet wired. I got my win 95 ibm pentium 166mhz 2g hdd to access the internet today wirelessly using a 16bit truemobile card. did everything but streaming videos.

Yes, a 486/66 with 32MB can access the internet. However, you probably won't like the results. Modern web pages have scripts that could easily take hours to resolve on a 486. And even the most modern browser that will run on a 486 will not correctly handle many web pages using newer formatting options. Facebook or similar websites would have all the images overlaid into one illegible mess.

what if i were using opera 3.64 with shockwave 4 to browse the internet. my pentium mmx with 95 works well with this 16 bit configuration and it says 3.1 compatable.