• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

NABU PC Emulation under MAME

brijohn

Experienced Member
So suffering form a bit of boredom over the weekend while waiting for my NABU to actually get shipped (It finally shipped today), I started playing around with getting the system emulated under MAME.

So far the base system should be mostly emulated, the hcca port is exposed to the host system via either the pty device or a null_modem device to allow communication with the in progress NABU network emulator.

The standard NABU keyboard is still not full emulated as I was not able to find online schematics for the keyboard PCB and my NABU has yet to arrive, however I implemented an HLE keyboard that simply sends the correct serial data rather then emulating the 6801/3 chip. The system also does not yet emulate the bus, so no emulated expansion cards yet.

Github: https://github.com/brijohn/mame/tree/nabupc_wip

Attachments

• mame_nabupc.png
    mame_nabupc.png
    106.7 KB · Views: 4
Hey if it’s not working yet then it’s emulating my NABU perfectly!
[Mine’s still in its box. I did download the (8K) ROM’s and work on the disassembly. ;-)]

someone else is working on it

Luigi30 is working on it here: https://github.com/luigi30/mame/tree/nabu

I haven't tried it yet but I do have the 4k, 8k and keyboard ROMs here: https://vintagecomputer.ca/files/Nabu/firmware/
Yeah i have been using your ROM set for my version. I hadn't seen Luigi's version before though, but i took a brief look since I was curious if he had a better handle on the keyboard emulation, though it doesn't look much different my current iteration. Hence why i have currently implemented a high level emulation version that does not require using the original keyboard rom. I do have support in mine for loading both the 8k and 4k version though the 8k fails with a floppy drive failed message because there is currently no emulated floppy controller for the system.