• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

New to the site

marksmithhfx

Hi everyone, I popped into the site yesterday because I was looking for some help getting Apple Pascal running on an Apple //e and I found some great help (thanks AJ and HoJoPo) and AJ asked me to introduce myself.

I'm an inveterate programmer and have been at it for about 50 years (give or take). Sometimes as a hobby and sometimes as an occupation. Recently retired from a career in Epidemiology (at Univ of Manitoba, Canada) and now taking up an old passion. I've started a software company to market some of my products (it's still ramping up) and have plans to launch an online programming course (for those who just can't stay away) focused primarily on mobile app development (Apple primarily). Hoping to launch that in early 2023. It keeps me busy.

I do have a vintage collection of sorts. I have an Apple //e (65C02 chip, debuted in 1986) with 128 KB of memory running in emulation on my very new 2021 MacBook Pro (M1). It was the need for the Apple Pascal system disks for the //e that brought me here. I also have a circa 1986 Macintosh Plus with 4 MB of internal memory, and copious amounts of external memory (currently using 4MB virtual floppy drives in it), also running in emulation mode. Finally I have a Macintosh II emulation which needs a boot ROM and I'm on the hunt for one of those.