• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Old engineers never stop moving, they just flow from one electron to another...

nevadaOZman

Hello to your special world. What's my story?... Well, I'm a retired electronic/electrical design engineer. I joined the "kick-back" club a few years ago but have never in my life been so busy!! For real! I have a history that includes starting out in high school playing the trombone... first chair trombone! in the orchestra, and I was also in the marching band. Had a blast! While going to Amador (in mid CA) as a junior, I actually received an invitation from Tommy Newsom (of the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson - - if any of you remember those guys) to audition. I didn't know him personally, I hadn't met ANYONE famous yet, but my grandparents lived next door to his parents, and one thing lead to another... Even tho' I could literally play ANY piece or type of music, the issue at the time was I literally had zero self-confidence and ended up respectfully declining. OMG did I come to regret that about 10 years later! (and ever since).

Back at high school I was (WHAT?!) failing a typing class. WOW, I had never typed a thing in my life, never even touched a typewriter, and my mid-term grade was a "D"?! Even tho I was typing BY TOUCH, 43 words a minute on an IBM Selectric (I believe it was called), the teach docked a full GP for each error... Yeah, my avg error rate was 3... so, you know, I was a flaming D student. THAT was totally unacceptable to me and I quit that class that very day. I argued with myself: You came, you saw, you conquered. Okay, so I quit, BUT, I definitely could now type!