• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

PET 2001-N with non-functioning transformer

Dr. Killemov

Hello, everyone! First time poster here, but I've been collecting for years. I have this 2001-N that I've finally decided to take and have it checked out, but alas, she is absolutely dead. It's obvious that the transformer isn't feeding the machine any voltage at all and I'd like to start there. Are there common issues with this transformer that I should look out for? Please assume I'm an absolute noob at any diagnostics (it wouldn't be too far from the truth, honestly) but that I do have a love for anything vintage and this would be my very first restoration project. It's a daunting task, from my POV but fascinating!

I have not heard many issues with the transformer itself. Most of the issues I hear with the power supplies on the PETs is the big blue capacitor being dead or leaking.

Hello Dr. Killemov, welcome to the forum. In order for us to be able to help we first need to get an idea of what you really feel your current level of knowledge is, and what sort of test / measurement equipment you have available - for example, whether you have a multimeter and know how to use it?

In your introduction you say that it's obvious that the transformer isn't feeding voltage, but how is it obvious? Are you making that deduction from an apparent lack of life / activity, or have you made some voltage measurements already?

And another PET surfaces for repair.

Welcome to VCFED. I would suggest that you get at least 10 posts under your belt before we start debugging in earnest, because your posts will be under moderation until then and could be significantly delayed until the moderators review them.

I second Sirius's post.

There are a couple of recent PET repair threads where we have already tackled measurements of the transformer voltages if you would like to do a bit of browsing. I'll hunt a link out for you later.

Dave

And another PET surfaces for repair.