• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Preserving games on floppy discs

Stormstout

Hi!
I must admit that I am a bit of a newbie, a greenhorn when it concerns tempering with my PC. I have quite a new hardware that I use for everyday work and gaming but I also have a separate setup straight from 1990! The 90s set has of course floppy disc readers and two of them. The 1.2" and 1.4". I can install and play games from the floppies on the old machine. However, I was wondering would there be a way to copy those games to a CD and then emulate them on the newer PC? CD or maybe Pendrive? Floppies are unreliable and I would hate to lose my library of classic games. I want to save them somehow but I lack knowledge and ideas on how to proceed.

This is complicated.

The first big problem is - will the game software even run on the newer machine? It might not. All you can do is try it and see.

The second problem is copy protection, the software on the floppy disk might include software 'devices' to stop a copy working.

You can use imageing software to create an image copy of the floppy disk, this will include any 'tricks' that might be there to prevent normal copying, and this will preserve the software, but it might not help in running it on another system.

Another possibility could be that you might try to install the software onto the pendrive (USB stick ?), if that it possible, and it will run there (might need the original disk inserted as well) then at least you've got the working game on more durable hardware.

Might be able to say more if you say what OS is on your newer machine, and some examples of the games you're hoping to 'save'?

Geoff

It's not complicated. PC games normally don't have on-disk copy protection since 1989 with a very few exceptions. Use WinImage to create disk images of the floppy disks. Use DOSBox to play them on modern machines. That's it. People do it this way for over a decade now.